PDA

View Full Version : BSA 441 Victor Redesign

TriEye8
09-27-2010, 12:11 PM
I'm a student studying industrial design and for a semester long project I am redesigning a 1970 BSA 441 victor . The original bike was of a dirt bike style and based off of a motorcycle that won 2 Grand Prix world championships back in the sixties. This term "based" is a very loose one though, seeing as how the race bike's frame was built with the best steel and a "one off" type of build attitude coupled with racing components that were, well, components engineered specifically for racing, with Jeff Smith on the seat. What remains the same from the lightweight, world championship winning bike to the low cost, mass produced, grossly heavy consumer bike is the shapes of the gas tank, seat and frame, plus the use of the torquey, 440 cc single banger, the heart and soul.

Attached are my scope and objectives for the project.

TriEye8
09-27-2010, 12:44 PM
I went down to a motorcycle salvage yard, Steele's Motorcycle Salvage, which is south of Denver about two weeks ago. I was in search of a more modern front end that would fit the application of around a 310 pound street bike. The yard was full of mostly totaled GSXRs and R1s with the companionship of 70's and 80's Hondas, Yamahas, Kawasakis and Suzukis. I only saw one Harley Davidson in about 4 acres of bikes and not a single Italian motorcycle.

The front end that I thought best fits this project is a Kawasaki Ninja 250e, seeing as how these weigh in around 330 give or take and have a rake that I am looking for, 23 to 25 degrees with around a 3 to 3.5 inch trail.

Enter the 1998 Ninja 250e parts bike...

I wanted to put a disc brake on the front for better stopping power so I salvaged the neck from the bike (which had no title), the triple tree, forks, caliper, front brake handle with reservoir, and front disk, from the 98'. I then grabbed and front wheel from an 06' Ninja with a RoadRider Avon tire.

TriEye8
09-27-2010, 12:54 PM