PDA

View Full Version : Battery for Triumph



justice66
09-13-2010, 9:25 PM
Can someone give me some specs for the smallest battery i can run in my 71 tr6? I heard that i can run it without a battery but with the lucas system when the bike is at idle the lights will be very dim. I can fix this by running a battery but im limited on room. Whats the smallest i can run?

Torch
09-13-2010, 10:11 PM
do you still have the stock battery box?

KT
09-13-2010, 10:17 PM
New boyers can run without a battery a mag runs without a battery and if you have the original points and such from triumph run a capacitor instead of a battery ...

like this one ...
http://www.britcycle.com/products/391/391_541_70009er.jpg

justice66
09-14-2010, 4:58 AM
Not running a mag and there is no room for a battery box, its been hardtailed and has the coils mounted and an oil tank. there is only a small space below the coils for a battery. probably 4x4x6 inch. I had a battery in it when i got it but its tiny and im not sure if it had enough power.

fozz
09-14-2010, 5:09 AM
then get a mag an a battery eliminator

Torch
09-14-2010, 9:34 AM
you can go down to a local Radio Shack and get an alarm battery that will work, it measures about 4x4x6". and is a sealed AGM 7.5 amp hour battery that will work great for about 2 years, then go get another one. we use them all the time.and costs about $25.00

BSAJimbo
09-14-2010, 12:02 PM
I just got this one and it works great. And you can't beat $16.99!

http://www.batteries.com/ups-units/apc/330xt-plus-battery_R-400898-202012.html

It is a replacement for a computer battery backup so you might be able to find one at a compusa or something. Nobody had one locally so it was $25 total to ship it.

I tried using a capacitor and the bike ran fine, but the lights were dim at idle.

justice66
09-14-2010, 8:06 PM
I just got this one and it works great. And you can't beat $16.99!

http://www.batteries.com/ups-units/apc/330xt-plus-battery_R-400898-202012.html

It is a replacement for a computer battery backup so you might be able to find one at a compusa or something. Nobody had one locally so it was $25 total to ship it.

I tried using a capacitor and the bike ran fine, but the lights were dim at idle.

How long have you been running that? It makes it so your lights dont dim at idle?

BSAJimbo
09-14-2010, 9:07 PM
The one that was on there was 3-4 years old, it finally crapped out so I just got a new one.

The lights aren't dim with the battery, just with the capacitor.

justice66
09-15-2010, 9:11 PM
I think im going to try that seems cheap enough and small enough.

BSAJimbo
09-15-2010, 9:50 PM
It works for my bike, and for $16 it's hard to go wrong!