PDA

View Full Version : Single Filament Headlight Wiring



tomiles
08-08-2017, 12:27 PM
Hey, looking for a wizards advice;

I want to hook up two single filament headlights to replace my dual filament head light. Not very competent with electricity.

Each single filament light just have one wire coming out, do i just need to cut the female three prong stock head light plug and attach running light to one, hi beam to another, and just find a place to ground that ground wire? or does each light need a ground spliced onto it?

When all is said and done, id like one light to be the running light and the other light engage with the hi beam.

Thanks!

PS. Lights are 12v and this is going on a 2003 sportster so just need to understand before i start soldering

WillSCB
08-08-2017, 3:07 PM
If I am understanding what you want to do, you want to have one element as a low beam and one as a high beam. If this is what you are trying to do, you go to your factory wiring diagram to find out which wire is high, which is low, and which is ground. The ground you will want to split off into two wires, one going to each filament. The high and low will go to the corresponding filament. Hope this helps you out with what you are wanting to do.

tomiles
08-08-2017, 3:43 PM
Sounds pretty simple but here are some further questions. These lights just have one wire running out, i read that some of these single filament lights are self grounded. I have taken the lights apart to see if there is a position to attach a ground wire and there is not. Are you saying i attach a ground wire directly to the single wire coming out, and attach another wire to either the hi/low wire? Can i attach the ground wires back to the ground wire coming out of the 3 prong female set up im about to snip off, or should i ground them to a washer, or even ground them separate? If they are self grounded then it should just be as simple as this diagram?78185

WillSCB
08-09-2017, 3:35 AM
If it doesn't have a ground wire, it is designed to be put into an assembly that is grounded to the frame. Do you have a photo of the lights you are planning on using? Hard to tell what you have without seeing it. You will probably have to look inside the headlight assemblies, as there is most likely a wire grounding the lamp to the body of the headlight. If so, you disconnect it, solder a longer wire to it, attach the two wires from the two assemblies to the ground wire on the three prong plug. Another thing to look at is what wattage the lights are. If they are drawing more amps than your stock lights, you will need to go to a larger fuse or breaker. The math to figure this out is watts= volts x amps. So, to figure out amps you divide the number of watts to the number of volts (which is 13.2 in a 12 volt system.) So, for example. If you have two light units that use 75 watts a piece, assuming that it will run both when on high beam (which I believe it should from the stock wiring,) you divide 150 watts by 13.2 volts, getting an amperage of about 11.4 so a 15 amp fuse or breaker would be needed (allowing plenty of margin for voltage spikes.) If you have a photo of the light unit, please attach it, thanks.

tomiles
08-09-2017, 3:46 AM
They are both 12V single filament lights. The guy i bought them from says they are self grounded.781947819578196

BlackCloudSalvage
08-09-2017, 9:09 AM
The lights are grounded by the case of the light bulb. So you have the metal cylindrical jacket at the bottom of the bulb, that gets grounded, while the nipple terminal at the base of that gets the 12v when connected into the socket. You can solder a ground wire to the sleeve that each bulb sits in and run that to frame ground or whatever if the case isn't already grounded. So you need a total of 4 wires. Hi beam wire to light (1) socket, ground wire to light (1) sleeve/case. Low beam wire to light (2) socket, ground wire to light (2) sleeve/case. You can splice the ground wire so it branches from a single wire out to both lights. The lights are only "self grounded" if the case makes a good clean connection to frame ground and is not isolated by paint or rubber/plastic washers, corroded bolts n washers, etc. I prefer a good wire ground on certain things.

BlackCloudSalvage
08-09-2017, 9:15 AM
If you really want to keep it simple then just make sure your trees then like all you need to do is run the hi and low wires and bolt your mount to the triple trees and you'll be good to go.

WillSCB
08-09-2017, 1:22 PM
Also, it looks like the copper tab just underneath the light bulb may be for grounding purposes, so you could attach the ground wires to that.

tomiles
08-09-2017, 5:24 PM
78207


So should i attach a ground wire thru the eye hole or solder the fuck out of it onto the light body? or where?

BlackCloudSalvage
08-09-2017, 7:19 PM
Like will said above, you could attach it to the copper tab terminal seen in your earlier pic on the case of the light housing with a spade terminal. anywhere that will make a good conductive connection with the body of that light bulb. You don't have to connect the wire to the actual bulb housing, it just ultimately needs to make an electrical connection. Heck you could just attach the wire to the dual mount bracket. Either way, get yerself a cheap multi meter and do a quick 15 minute YouTube research on continuity checks, voltage checks, etc. Basic electrical knowledge will free u up so much with messing around with motorcycles. It's a must and is fun and easy once you start.

BlackCloudSalvage
08-09-2017, 7:27 PM
The wire which touches the meral bracket which touches the metal headlight Case, which touches the metal bulb housing. It's one big electrical connection. Like one wire, only more areas for failure due to corrosion or lose connection, etc. Like mentioned above you could likely just not even run a ground wire since your triple trees share the frame ground (your battery negative has a big cable that bolts to your frame) so then your trees are grounded, your bracket will bolt to the trees and be grounded, etc as long as there is good clean connections. That is the "self grounded" he was talking about.

tomiles
08-09-2017, 7:33 PM
78215

so doing the bottom diagram and then mounting it directly onto the trees should be all i need to do then if im keeping it simple?

I am using galvanized brackets to attach to the top tree, a chrome wide glide bracket headlight bracket will be bolted onto the galvanized brackets, the head lights will mount on the wide glide headlight bracket.... Should be no able to sustain the ground?

Just take the head light ground and find an unpainted surface to ground?

tomiles
08-09-2017, 7:42 PM
or should i take that ground and splice it and do it to the bottom of each headlight mounting hardware?

BlackCloudSalvage
08-09-2017, 8:29 PM
Sounds like you got the gist of it. Give it a shot and get back to us.

tomiles
08-09-2017, 9:04 PM
ill report after the weekend

Tattooo
08-10-2017, 7:29 AM
Sounds like you got the gist of it. Give it a shot and get back to us.

Yep I agree.... The answer was right in front of him when he started this thread.... It just took a little while for him to see it..... I also think he has it now....

Motocrash
08-10-2017, 9:06 AM
Maybe you didn't notice that they moved your other thread.

http://www.chopcult.com/forum/showthread.php?t=49940

tomiles
08-10-2017, 5:57 PM
Guys, i think i have it but going to post pictures first before it blows up... Do you think we are in business? im waiting for the L brackets i need to mount the head light mount to the trees... right now its just being held on with zipties...

7823378234

tomiles
08-10-2017, 6:13 PM
its works guys... sorta... low beam stays on... when hi beam is engaged it switches to hi beam only.... any idea how to get the low one running constant, and the hi beam to just kick on when hi beam is engaged?

BlackCloudSalvage
08-10-2017, 7:08 PM
Yeah, supply a straight 12v to the low before it goes to the switch. So. You have 1 wire with 12 volts going into the switch. Right before the switch splice a wire that goes to your low beam light. Then your high beam light only comes on with the switch.

<img src='https://i.imgur.com/nhUE8MJ.jpg' />

BlackCloudSalvage
08-10-2017, 7:15 PM
Or like this.

<img src='https://i.imgur.com/z8Hzose.jpg' />

Position one. No lights

Position two. Low only

Position three. Hi n low

tomiles
08-10-2017, 10:00 PM
hmmmm the whole head light wiring is in a nice little braid already... what about running the accessory to the head light and just capping the low beam? It would just mean no light until the bike starts, right?

Motocrash
08-11-2017, 5:58 AM
If you want to simpilfy the wiring, you only have to run the ground to one of the lights. The lights will be grounded together by the mount.

tomiles
08-11-2017, 7:22 PM
Got it guys! I ended up separating the low beam from the hi beam switch and splicing it directly onto the blue wire (ignition to lights and controls). Thanks for the help, works perfect


78248

tomiles
08-12-2017, 1:51 PM
https://www.facebook.com/Squidable/videos/1432348170135769/

Sky
08-13-2017, 5:56 AM
Or run a diode between the "on" poles at the hi-lo switch

armand
08-14-2017, 4:32 PM
Not to throw a monkey wrench in here but I was always schooled not to ground to the forks bc the ground then passes through the neck bearings thereby causing corrosion. I run a wire to the frame. Old wives tale?

Tattooo
08-14-2017, 6:11 PM
I was always schooled not to ground to the forks bc the ground then passes through the neck bearings thereby causing corrosion. I run a wire to the frame. Old wives tale?

Not at all.... Going through the bearings is a poor ground.... It won't last.........

47str8leg
08-14-2017, 8:27 PM
Not at all.... Going through the bearings is a poor ground.... It won't last.........

I actually just found out about this recently. Good thing I never told my bikes headlights about this which have been wired that way since 2003 & 2009 respectively.
They might stop working if I do.

Tattooo
08-14-2017, 8:59 PM
I actually just found out about this recently. Good thing I never told my bikes headlights about this which have been wired that way since 2003 & 2009 respectively.
They might stop working if I do.

See I always knew you were a very lucky man..... LOL

I never said it wouldn't work I said it was a poor ground.... Usually they aren't as bright of a light..... Did you ever grease the bearings???

Sky
08-14-2017, 11:59 PM
I'd think with the amount of preload,and therefore metal to metal contact, in a neck bearing setup there would be no difference.
A lumens test is in order, haha.
Maybe an ohms test with and without an "extra" ground wire?
I've always beloved the don't ground through bearings whilst welding practice... But that's a whole 'nother level of amperage.

Tattooo
08-15-2017, 6:18 AM
I've always beloved the don't ground through bearings whilst welding practice... But that's a whole 'nother level of amperage.

You got me thinking.... Is 47 bike an electric start bike or just a kick????

47str8leg
08-15-2017, 10:17 AM
You got me thinking.... Is 47 bike an electric start bike or just a kick????
Kick only on both.

Tattooo
08-15-2017, 2:44 PM
Kick only on both.


Just as I thought..... It should last many more years.....