PDA

View Full Version : Needed: 20 Harley XLAs and 20 BMW R71s, circa 1940 (or their reasonable faximiles)

Hooligans2018
07-15-2017, 9:23 AM
During WWII Russia bought 20,000 Harleys, mostly WLAs. I'm an indepedent movie producer that (taking extreme liberties with actual history) is pitching a concept where Russian rifle-squads/snipers, (many of them women) were rushed into pivotal battles on these Harleys during the winter of 1940-41.

Where I need help is how to make reasonable look-alikes of the XLAs and the BMW R71s that will battle throughout the film. I have seen that somewhere in China they make an R71 look alike (or at least they did until a few years ago), and I do see that the Ural lineup could probably be made-up to look like an R71.

What I'm trying desperately to avoid is the film being panned by Harley-mavens everywhere because the machines look nothing like the real-McCoy WLAs. The film will also have a limited budget, so I can't spend half that on completely custom bikes.

So, what's my best route to getting 20 or so WLA look alikes? Who was still using that engine/body design into the '70s or '80s that I can go search junkyards and Craigslist? Failing all that ... who could make WLA look-alikes for a reasonable cost?

Thanks for helping.

Hooligans2018
07-15-2017, 9:32 AM

tzienlee
07-15-2017, 10:26 AM
where Is the film going to be filmed?... if in Europe seek out the Military Vehicle Owners Club and see if their members would want to have a ride on roll in your film for a fee,.... you would get A) People who know how to ride them....B) correct period bikes not ''look alike's''.... C) It will be cheaper than having nasty look alike's built that will get a grilling from the rivet counters.......

Hooligans2018
07-15-2017, 11:14 AM
"...rivet counters." That is an awesome description!