PDA

View Full Version : Before i dive in, help steer me in the right direction please.

meanEG
07-24-2016, 8:36 PM
ok , I have been on and off this site for years, but finally got an account started. I am a car guy, but am going to take a break from cars for a while and build a bike. I am looking to build a hardtail, that I know. I am asking for advice here on what your opinions are on the best way to go. I am a mechanic by trade , but currently in the Army. I have a MIG and TIG welder and know how to use them. I am not experienced in building bikes, and am not afraid to try anything.

Here is what I know I want or don't want
1. prefer not to have a 4 cylinder
2. don't want a shaft drive anything
3, I want a horizontal twin before a v twin
4. I want electronic ignition, would like to go batteryless possibly
5. prefer to easily do 65mph for an indefinite amount of time
6. spoked wheels

I am stuck between xs650, kz750 twin or doing something entirely custom. I am not opposed to cb350/360 or kz440 entirely. I have a 0 mile Yamaha R5 engine that I was thinking of putting into a voodoo vintage hardtail frame. I was also looking for a DT360 or DT400 single 2 stroke to throw into the frame as well. the reason for a 1 off build is because its going to all be changed anyway, so why not start from scratch?

I wouold like to find a DT360 or 400 with title and try to hardtail that, but I was worried about the fork length softness and rake angle. what would you do for that? I don't know what it takes to swap front ends, different manufactures wheels regarding axles and what not. I would like to end up with a 16-18 and 21 wheel setup.

I am a little overwhelmed with questions, but this should get me started. Thanks for the help

07-25-2016, 9:57 AM
Thanks for your service.

The XS650 has ton's of aftermarket support and technical assistance. The KZ750 twin, not so much. The CB/CL350