PDA

View Full Version : 1982 KZ440- Some questions

tanner
06-17-2016, 7:52 AM
Whats up 33,

Been lurking here for a bit now. This may be all over the place, which is why I don't write often, so sorry in advance.

A buddy of mine recently picked up a KZ440 and I've been working on it and storing it in my garage. The bike is a decade older then me and I'm no mechanic, but we got it running for the first time yesterday after not knowing if the engine would even turn. He bought it titled for $500 off some scumbag who had it apart and didn't give us all the parts for it. Engine is strong, bike was dropped but nothing is that bad, wiring is a shitshow, but my questions come in to play when it comes to the carbs. He had them rebuilt by someone else and not me, so I cant really tell where something went wrong. My guess is the bowl isn't seated right based off the gas leak from the overflow.

Does anyone know if there is supposed to be gaskets between the carb and the motor or the carb and the air box? I can't find any info on it online. And if so and anyone is holding I'd be happy to buy them off you. Also, are there supposed to be clamps between the carb and the air box?

We also need new rubber mounts that go between the carb and the motor that hold the carb to it, as they are old and cracked.

I had more questions but started typing and forgot, so I'll start here and if anyone cares enough to write back it'd be greatly appreciated.

PeanutHead
06-17-2016, 9:54 AM
It just so happens I too am currently building a 440 (82 motor w/80 frame). There's supposed to be a gasket between the motor and the exhaust boot. You might be able to see it in this pic.
11th hour Industries made these aluminum boots ($100) Now for the intake (air box) boots. No they don't have clamps on them just a spring.

tanner
06-17-2016, 11:03 AM