PDA

View Full Version : HELP, EFI Advice.



inxs
05-02-2016, 8:51 AM
OK, so lets get the history of the bike out of the way, (most of its mods have been documented already somewhere on this site).

2010 xl 883n w/ dyno jet PC-V (no auto tune) installed and mapped for Short Shots and SE Air Cleaner as per Dyno Jets suggestions.
The bikes exhaust is the head pipes down to a small 90 elbow with lollipops inside. The AC is Joker machine style round AC.

This bike ran tits like this since 2011.

End of winter this year I take it out for a little jam. On this ride, I came upon a stop sign, pulled in my clutch and the bikes RPMS sky rocketed.

I kill the bike, turn it on, and limp it home with the idle speed high.

Plug the PC in to find out the bikes idle is now sitting at 1800-2300 rpms.

Dicked around with the map at the zero throttle position range and that did little to help and returned the bike to its previous map.

Replaced, TMAP, AIC, and TPS and cleaned every fucking thing that could.

Compression test: 150's both jugs

Cables and cords are all seemingly ok. No cuts, tears, or frays, all connections are cleaned.


Checked the charging system, Checked the Diagnostic codes, and finally brought the bike back to Harley.

2 hours later they call me with this diagnosis and this solution

Problem:
Power Commander is shit (I plugged it into my computer and it seemed to be reading the bike ok, so I never thought PC-v)

Solution:
#1 New PC and "SEE" if that works.

$300.00

They wont tune PC there though. But it did run well before and when they unplugged the PC the bikes idle returned to normal but because the PC is unplugged the Bike is now running inconsistent.

#2 Remove PC

Install the H-D race tuner and have them dyno the bike, map it and burn the map to my ECM.

$700.00

#3 Carb Conversion

Ignition, Manifold, Carb, AC and tank.

$650-1200

Another option that I have not really thought much about is a Thunder MAX all in one auto tune ECM replacement. I never hear anything good about that option though.

Just kinda of lost, as its hard to see the forest through the trees in terms of which makes the most sense. Riding season is upon us and the I am trying to be smart about money and what makes sense. Not sure if I am actually asking for advice which his always helpful or just writing my thoughts out for organization purposes.

Either way with no PC, the high idle issue is fixed.

It is just where to go from here.

<a href="http://s629.photobucket.com/user/jason_miguel1/media/Screenshot%2012_zps6l1umnoo.png.html" target="_blank"><img src="http://i629.photobucket.com/albums/uu20/jason_miguel1/Screenshot%2012_zps6l1umnoo.png" border="0" alt="Sorta wheres shes at photo Screenshot 12_zps6l1umnoo.png"/></a>

Sky
05-02-2016, 10:39 AM
Did ya ever check mechanical issues? Even though it seems to be idling ok without the piggyback brain
Intake leak(s)?
Compression test?
Throttle cables?
Were O2 sensors mentioned?
Beyond that, I'd be looking for corroded wires and/or terminals.
And as far as the Power Commander going bad, did ya recalibrate the throttle position sensor through your laptop?
Did ya call Power Commander and ask them? They might even take the old one back in partial exchange for a new one.
The stealership always blames the aftermarket until they buy the rights and slap their name on it.
Besides, it would be a conflict of interest for them to not recommend their own product.

bbqbob
05-02-2016, 10:46 AM
I am running the Thundermax with auto tune on my 07 Roadking .It's been on for 9 years now without a hitch. I am installing some Dave Mackie cams next week and when I finish I will get it dynoed for the base map. This will be the first time going to the dyno. You can set the base map with your PC with some lookup tables to get close and then the auto tune does the rest. The auto tune is a great feature. The mountains or sea level the bike is always in tune.

inxs
05-02-2016, 11:06 AM
Compression tested the motor. 150's both jugs.

Cables checked nothing there

Myself, two shops, and H-D checked for leaks ...ZERO leaks

O2 senors are eliminated by the PC-V

Keeleyvision
05-02-2016, 3:14 PM
you need to run the PCV's digital ground outside of the harness to a different ground, I had to do this to a PC3, contact power commander about how, this is a common problem.