PDA

View Full Version : newbie looking for advice on first bike purchase

kadnum
04-13-2016, 7:36 PM
Hi all im kinda new to the bike building thing. I was wondering if i can get some advice from the experts on here . Im going to look at a 1983 Yamaha Maxim 650 on the weekend and i was just wanting to know if that would be a good platform to start with ?

unretrofied
04-14-2016, 4:35 AM
Is the Maxim 650 shaft driven?

RedBanner
04-14-2016, 5:56 AM
Yes it is, shaft drive. Could be a good bike to learn on, but it's on the bigger side of what I would suggest. But I'm a sissy, i learned on a old xl Honda enduro. I built a lot of confidence off road as well.

WillSCB
04-14-2016, 6:54 AM
Although I am not a fan of shaft drive, for a starter bike, the 650 Maxim would be a good choice. To me, the most important factors are that it is reasonably priced, and not anything so nice that you will feel bad when you drop it. (If you are a true novice, and haven't been on dirt bikes, you are going to drop it once or twice. Anyone who says they have never dropped a bike is either very lucky, or an outright liar.)

Westboundbiker
04-14-2016, 7:05 AM
How long have you been riding before?
What are you looking to do? Build a cafe, bobber, chopper, or a tracker/enduro?
Do you have any background in fabrication? Know how to weld, familiar with machining, metalwork, etc? Lack of experience doesn't rule things out, but we can help you find bikes that are easy to work on if you don't have much previous practice.
Is there an engine style you're set on? Got to have the thump of a V-twin? Want the slick stylings of a inline twin? The power of a 4 cylinder?
And what's your budget? Can you afford the ever-popular xs650, or will you be looking for something a little bit more budget-friendly?

Some general guidelines: