PDA

View Full Version : Fixing CB550 Fuse Block



adollarwodbnice
03-26-2016, 7:20 PM
So, I bought a Sportster last year and put my CB550 in the garage and then a lady hit me and the sportster got totaled so now i'm back to my CB. I used to ride it around all over and it was reliable then one day it started blowing fuses and I couldn't figure out why.

I finally got around to pulling some stuff off the bike to clean it up and get it running better and this is what I discovered. I wasn't sure at first but it looks like the main fuse melted most of the wire on the contact for this fuse. Anyone ever had this happen? I had just been looking for a new fuse block but noticed there are 2 empty slots on this one. If I solder the wire to one of the 2 spare spots should they still work fine? I would cut the wire and slide it back a little to expose a cleaner portion of it and solder it to the first spare. I know nothing about this stuff so i'm just assuming this will work. Most of what I read is that the reason these blow is because the contacts are dirty or oxidized, mine didn't really look so bad so i'm thinking maybe a bad ground somewhere? Anyone have suggestions on that?

http://i486.photobucket.com/albums/rr227/adollarwodbnice/6F8080F3-E425-439C-8D6F-38B48260444E.jpg (http://s486.photobucket.com/user/adollarwodbnice/media/6F8080F3-E425-439C-8D6F-38B48260444E.jpg.html)
http://i486.photobucket.com/albums/rr227/adollarwodbnice/C2AF4F4F-1B82-4B50-9D27-28F80BDDEEBC.jpg (http://s486.photobucket.com/user/adollarwodbnice/media/C2AF4F4F-1B82-4B50-9D27-28F80BDDEEBC.jpg.html)
http://i486.photobucket.com/albums/rr227/adollarwodbnice/DF979067-FA1F-448D-A9DB-51865767057E.jpg (http://s486.photobucket.com/user/adollarwodbnice/media/DF979067-FA1F-448D-A9DB-51865767057E.jpg.html)
http://i486.photobucket.com/albums/rr227/adollarwodbnice/C77ACE5A-62D7-4B2D-9914-921F3034AACE.jpg (http://s486.photobucket.com/user/adollarwodbnice/media/C77ACE5A-62D7-4B2D-9914-921F3034AACE.jpg.html)
http://i486.photobucket.com/albums/rr227/adollarwodbnice/B4E23764-6086-428E-9FA8-3A9CC05764ED.jpg (http://s486.photobucket.com/user/adollarwodbnice/media/B4E23764-6086-428E-9FA8-3A9CC05764ED.jpg.html)

sdustin
03-26-2016, 9:23 PM
I think your in the right tract just moving the wires. Hell just try it if it work good. If not you back to where you are now.

CarloFreeze
03-27-2016, 11:31 AM
Do yourself a favor while you're here and clip the wires and throw away that fuse block. Glass tube fuses corrode and make shitty contact. Rewire the entire block up to an automotive style mini block. I found a nice one with 4 circuits which allowed for MAIN, HEADLIGHT, TAIL LIGHT, AND ACCESSORY, that I setup years ago and it's never melted a fuse since. I've worked on a lot of 70's Honda and other Japanese bikes of the era and a lot of them have fuse blocks that look just like that.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/4-WAY-FUSE-BLADE-HOLDER-BOX-BLOCK-CAR-VEHICLE-AUTOMOTIVE-CIRCUIT-4-FUSE-NEW-/201364994318

This is how my fuse block came out.

67958

Tattooo
03-27-2016, 1:25 PM
Have you looked around for another block??? That one look fairly rough......There are several CB forums I was a member of and there is always ebay,,,, Be sure and solder the connection..... If you use a spade connector that will be a weak point...

adollarwodbnice
03-30-2016, 9:44 AM
Do yourself a favor while you're here and clip the wires and throw away that fuse block. Glass tube fuses corrode and make shitty contact. Rewire the entire block up to an automotive style mini block. I found a nice one with 4 circuits which allowed for MAIN, HEADLIGHT, TAIL LIGHT, AND ACCESSORY, that I setup years ago and it's never melted a fuse since. I've worked on a lot of 70's Honda and other Japanese bikes of the era and a lot of them have fuse blocks that look just like that.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/4-WAY-FUSE-BLADE-HOLDER-BOX-BLOCK-CAR-VEHICLE-AUTOMOTIVE-CIRCUIT-4-FUSE-NEW-/201364994318

This is how my fuse block came out.

67958
I was considering doing something like this as long as I can find one the same size... still not sure where i wanna go with this bike since I want to get a new harley so at this point i just wanna get it running well to sell it.

I literally know so little about wiring and electronic things that I wasn't sure if it would make things not work correctly going to blade fuses from the tube ones... does it make a difference?

Would this work? It says it works for ampage rated 10-30... obviously I need to have 2 of these 7a so I don't know if that means it's too low for this box? I seriously know nothing about wiring stuff and electronics...

http://www.amazon.com/OLS-PSZACCEPS051H-6-Way-Illuminated-Blade/dp/B00QMTAZ1W/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1459353279&sr=8-2&keywords=fuse+block

CarloFreeze
03-30-2016, 5:55 PM
Blade vs tube fuses doesn't make any difference except in terms of reliability. There's also nothing wrong with spade connectors. If you really want to be extra secure you could solder the connections and use heat shrink tubing over the terminal lugs. There's the reason you don't see tube fuses in cars anymore! All you need to do is match the amperage required by the circuit (i.e. MAIN, LIGHTS, ETC) Main is usually 30A, and the lights will be in the 10 to 20 amp range depending on whether or not they're ganged up. The voltage is always going to pass through a fuse unless there's a short, that's what the fuse is there for.

adollarwodbnice
03-30-2016, 6:11 PM
Blade vs tube fuses doesn't make any difference except in terms of reliability. There's also nothing wrong with spade connectors. If you really want to be extra secure you could solder the connections and use heat shrink tubing over the terminal lugs. There's the reason you don't see tube fuses in cars anymore! All you need to do is match the amperage required by the circuit (i.e. MAIN, LIGHTS, ETC) Main is usually 30A, and the lights will be in the 10 to 20 amp range depending on whether or not they're ganged up. The voltage is always going to pass through a fuse unless there's a short, that's what the fuse is there for.

My main is 15A and lights are both 7A.... do blades and tube fuses not match the same amperage?.....

farmall
03-30-2016, 6:16 PM
Those stock Honda fuse blocks are infamous for loosening, corroding and generally turning to shit.

I STRONGLY second the CarloFreeze post about switching to blades, and I'd add you can get blade style circuit breakers so you don't have to fuck with fuses. I much prefer breakers but fuses of course work.

Another thing to watch on Hondas is the connector on top of the starter solenoid. Honda uses that as a power tap to feed the rest of the electrical system. Ensure the contacts are clean, and if yours has a little flap door on the side of the solenoid open than and ensure the fusible link isn't corroded. If you ever have a total power loss that's one place to inspect. Universal solenoids are plentiful online.

adollarwodbnice
03-30-2016, 6:16 PM
68088

If I get this fuse block would I just solder both wires to the point exactly like i crudely circled here? On the one I have it has a wire going to each side but this block looks like it only has one point per fuse...?