PDA

View Full Version : Teaching myself to weld... Cleanliness?

cggorman
03-23-2016, 11:59 AM
Hey all! I'm an industrial brazer by trade (among other things) and cleanliness is quite critical for proper alloy adhesion and flow. To the point that I must be careful of what abrasives I use...

How careful do I need to be with cleanliness while MIG welding mild steel? If the sheet comes from the mill "clean" (no surface rust) and I wipe it off with alcohol is it clean enough? Any concern with aluminum oxide abrasives? What about finger prints and non-visible oxidation that is hard to reach in inside corners after I bend up, say, a 5 sided box?

Thanks! I'm hoping to strike my first arc tonight.

billybiltit
03-23-2016, 2:28 PM
the cleaner the better.
but,
mig is pretty forgiving when it comes to dirtyness.

i have mig welded through paint and dirt,it doesn't penetrate as well and is more apt to cold lap and smells horrible.

keep everything clean an inch either side of the weld and you will have no problems.

leon

cggorman
03-23-2016, 4:14 PM
Thanks! Is mineral spirits an acceptable cleaner?

Keeleyvision
03-23-2016, 4:52 PM
Thanks! Is mineral spirits an acceptable cleaner?

you don't even need to go that far

farmall
03-23-2016, 5:08 PM
You can't get too clean though welding is very tolerant. A flap disc is plenty sufficient in most cases.

Since you braze you know puddle control and you ain't skeered of a torch. You might REALLY like oxy-acetylene welding and it's insanely versatile.

Some evening fap material: https://www.tinmantech.com/gallery-of-metalwork/

Flabadabadingdong
03-24-2016, 8:02 PM
Cleaner is better but if you're just working with mild steel you don't have to go crazy. Just knock that mill scale off and you're fine.

ReRunCycleWorks
03-25-2016, 9:56 AM