PDA

View Full Version : biltwell whiskey throttle problems...got any tips?



oldschoolhdmike
03-14-2016, 3:36 PM
i have used a whisky throttle on all my builds which has been 4 and just got my first single cable one. i have done everything i know to do but it binds up constantly.... i have taken all of the powdercoat of the bars, i have even put a light dab of grease on the bars. if i tighten the screws down all the way to close up the gap on the housing it doesnt move at all.....this is the first time i have had issues with one of these and its driving me nuts....it was a brand new throttle.....any help would be appreciated.....ill would go take some pics and upload them but i dont think it would help. the only thing i have thought of is i am using a gold cable barrel that came with my throttle cable and usually i use the oem silver one, but i dont have one handy.....

Blackbetty
03-14-2016, 3:58 PM
I've had to take some fine sandpaper to the edges of the cable guide at the sleeve before.

Have also had to file out the inside of the sleeve a bit to get smooth snappy operation.

Try to isolate where it's rubbing and focus on that.

I usually rub some motor oil on the bar before I put the sleeve on.

oldschoolhdmike
03-14-2016, 4:02 PM
it is definately the housing it is binding up on somehow. i took the cable and everything out and mounted it on the bars.....it works until you tighten it up. complete locks up.....

but it does seem to be ok put together not on the bars. hard to tell because it is loose in there. i have noticed that the housing halves do not match up perfectly when bolted up.....very slightly off......

humancertainty
03-14-2016, 4:04 PM
I lubed mine with assembly lubricant. That did the trick for me.

oldschoolhdmike
03-14-2016, 4:40 PM
always do that too.....

i have machined down the barrel holder on the sleeve on my lathe to give it more clearance inside the housing....still binds....this is all still without the cable even hooked up. i have to loosen the nuts back almost to falling out for it to move any......

oldschoolhdmike
03-14-2016, 7:07 PM
i took the biltwell sleeve out and put in a plastic sleeve and it does the same thing on that sleeve. its not like it is sticking or grabbing in one area. not even all the way tight to the bars it is locked wherever you have it.

jrhamilton80
03-15-2016, 9:29 PM
How does the sleeve turn in the housing while off the handlebars with the bolts tightened down?

hellbilly1932
03-15-2016, 11:05 PM
Did you try another throttle assembly on those bars? I've found a wide variation in finished diameter of bars before, some are closer to metric size which screws with throttle fitment and grips. Just a thought, not all bars are created equal.

jsaz666
03-16-2016, 12:14 PM
I have a used one, and I had to clearance the whole inside of the cable guide with a dremel, as the diameter of the bars Iare were just a shade over 1". Works fantastic now!

hellbilly1932
03-16-2016, 10:42 PM
I have a used one, and I had to clearance the whole inside of the cable guide with a dremel, as the diameter of the bars Iare were just a shade over 1". Works fantastic now!

Exactly what I was getting at. Had to do the same on one with a slightly oversized set of bars.

jsaz666
03-17-2016, 9:34 AM
Exactly what I was getting at. Had to do the same on one with a slightly oversized set of bars.

I wrestled with the issue and could not figure out what the hell was wrong. I put some thin spacers between the 2 halves and it worked great, but it didn't hold to the handlebar. That is when the light bulb went off and I grabbed the dremel. Problem solved.

reeb
03-17-2016, 7:18 PM
Is it binding when it's bolted together when not on the handle bars? I had this problem with mine just get some valve grinding compound squirt that shit in the throttle like Ron Jeremy and go to town working the throttle back and forth

OakBehringer
04-26-2016, 6:58 PM
I'm having this happen to myself, too. Single cable version, brand new. Exact same description... works fine if bolted together OFF the bars, but once I tighten it ON the bars, it binds up (even without any cables on it). Fuckin bullshit. Happening on a custom set of bars built by SlimsFabFarm (powder coated black), as well as a set of Biltwell Zeds (chrome - same brand - you think they'd work!). Tomorrow I get my Pangea Zephyr's in the mail, if it ALSO happens on those, I'm going to be pretty annoyed. You drop a hundo on a throttle you shouldn't have to spend hours machining it to get it work.

Maybe something is up with their casting process, as of lately.

oldschoolhdmike
04-26-2016, 7:01 PM
I'm having this happen to myself, too. Single cable version, brand new. Exact same description... works fine if bolted together OFF the bars, but once I tighten it ON the bars, it binds up (even without any cables on it). Fuckin bullshit. Happening on a custom set of bars built by SlimsFabFarm (powder coated black), as well as a set of Biltwell Zeds (chrome - same brand - you think they'd work!). Tomorrow I get my Pangea Zephyr's in the mail, if it ALSO happens on those, I'm going to be pretty annoyed. You drop a hundo on a throttle you shouldn't have to spend hours machining it to get it work.

Maybe something is up with their casting process, as of lately.

biltwell sent me a new one. no issues with it. email biltwell from their site and they will send you one under warranty...

OakBehringer
04-26-2016, 9:10 PM
biltwell sent me a new one. no issues with it. email biltwell from their site and they will send you one under warranty...

Will do, thanks man!

dstevenson8
04-27-2016, 8:04 AM
I had a similar issue. I just don't tighten the bolts down all the way. I found that I could tighten the top down until about 1/8th inch and then tighten the bottom until the sticking occurred again then slightly loosen. The housing stays put and the throttle works great. I slapped some red loctite in there just to make sure its not going to fall off.

oldschoolhdmike
04-27-2016, 8:16 AM
I had a similar issue. I just don't tighten the bolts down all the way. I found that I could tighten the top down until about 1/8th inch and then tighten the bottom until the sticking occurred again then slightly loosen. The housing stays put and the throttle works great. I slapped some red loctite in there just to make sure its not going to fall off.

the problem we were having was worse than that. i didnt tighten the bolts all the way down on the new one they sent me. the first one was just flawed. but biltwell sent me a new one so it solved the issue

OakBehringer
05-02-2016, 11:15 AM
biltwell sent me a new one. no issues with it. email biltwell from their site and they will send you one under warranty...

It has been many days since I emailed Biltwell's warranty dept with a descriptive, polite message, including my proof of purchase, etc. No response. I know I'm in the minority, but I cannot recommend this throttle, and I'm bummed that the company seems to have left me in the lurch.

Just got my Joker Machine throttle in the mail. Super fast shipping, excellent quality, actually MADE in the USA, has an option for cruise control, and works right out of the box.

oldschoolhdmike
05-02-2016, 2:54 PM
It has been many days since I emailed Biltwell's warranty dept with a descriptive, polite message, including my proof of purchase, etc. No response. I know I'm in the minority, but I cannot recommend this throttle, and I'm bummed that the company seems to have left me in the lurch.

Just got my Joker Machine throttle in the mail. Super fast shipping, excellent quality, actually MADE in the USA, has an option for cruise control, and works right out of the box. Buy the JM throttle.


return it to the place you bought it from. joker machine throttle is a good one

OakBehringer
05-03-2016, 12:59 PM
It has been many days since I emailed Biltwell's warranty dept with a descriptive, polite message, including my proof of purchase, etc. No response. I know I'm in the minority, but I cannot recommend this throttle, and I'm bummed that the company seems to have left me in the lurch.

I'd like to rescind this message - Biltwell got back to me after a week, and have sent me a replacement. They explained the long wait for the response... was because their warranty guy was out of town. Kind of lame, but whatever. Once I got a hold of them, their customer service was excellent.

I will respond to this thread with a comparison of the Biltwell and JM throttle, once I have everything in front of my face.

hellbilly1932
05-03-2016, 11:01 PM
Yeah Biltwell is a small business type place and they actually ride, I believe they just did a NorCal ride this last week.

OakBehringer
05-12-2016, 2:30 PM
Updated thread with comparison of Biltwell, Joker Machine, and cheap Chinese throttle:

http://www.chopcult.com/forum/showthread.php?t=46813