PDA

View Full Version : 76 xs650 starting trouble

Heis
06-01-2010, 8:32 PM
So I have been building a 76 xs650 and I am having trouble getting it fired up. I have a charged battery and 12 volts at both spark plug caps. I just rebuilt the carbs and adjusted the mixture screws to their original specs per the haynes manual.

the problem I am having I think is with the timing but I adjusted the timing on the alternator per the manual. I am not hooking up the starter motor so its now a kick only. I can kick it 10 times and it may turn over once for about a second. Sounds like its only in the left carb too. After rebuilding the carbs and adjusting both mixture screws and trying to start, on the 3rd kick, the carbs popped clean off the engine (this happened twice before rebuilding the carbs tonight). I am at a loss here as this is my first build and each step I am learning as I go. Any advice would be great.

kingballercfl
06-01-2010, 8:59 PM
first things first:do you have spark? sounds like the plugs are fouled.i had the same issue with mine.hold it wide open and kick it till it starts,if it sounds like asshole and coughs and hickups on one lung change out the plugs.and make sure and get the right plug for an xs from the parts store.its a heat range 7 plug,and will run allot better on it.secondly are you running the stock ignition? if so check the fuse box.i've had intermittant power issues accross the glass fuses in the stock holder. and lastly make sure you have power to the ignition bypass relay.if so replace it.the stock ones are known to be junk~

Heis
06-02-2010, 8:38 PM