PDA

View Full Version : Adding handlebar switches



H20Rider
11-29-2015, 9:28 PM
I found a Kawasaki Vulcan handlebar switch unit that includes Hi-Lo beam, horn, and a turn signal switch. I've been trying to figure out the wiring using a meter by checking for electrical resistance when switches are thrown. However, I am encountering problems. Using this method, I have isolated the high beam lead and one direction (right) of the turn signal switch. I can't seem to identify the lest blinker wire, the low beam, or the horn.

Here 's my test:
High beam
meter lead ->red(power)wire -> the switch -> blue wire -> meter's other lead.

Blinker:
meter lead ->grey(from relay)wire -> the switch -> orange -> meter's other lead.

I can't get this approach to work for any of the other wires/switches.
Before I tear into the switches, is there something I'm neglecting to do?

Do I need dual sets of switches (ugh!)

http://www.ebay.com/itm/2006-KAWASAKI-VULCAN-CLASSIC-VN1500-LEFT-HANDLEBAR-SWITCHES-CONTROLS-/252042520444?hash=item3aaee7a77c:g:FpgAAOSwHnFVurr ~&vxp=mtr

Tattooo
11-29-2015, 9:34 PM
I found a Kawasaki Vulcan handlebar switch unit that includes Hi-Lo beam, horn, and a turn signal switch. I've been trying to figure out the wiring using a meter by checking for electrical resistance when switches are thrown. However, I am encountering problems. Using this method, I have isolated the high beam lead and one direction (right) of the turn signal switch. I can't seem to identify the lest blinker wire, the low beam, or the horn.

Here 's my test:
High beam
meter lead ->red(power)wire -> the switch -> blue wire -> meter's other lead.

Blinker:
meter lead ->grey(from relay)wire -> the switch -> orange -> meter's other lead.

I can't get this approach to work for any of the other wires/switches.
Before I tear into the switches, is there something I'm neglecting to do?

Do I need dual sets of switches (ugh!)

http://www.ebay.com/itm/2006-KAWASAKI-VULCAN-CLASSIC-VN1500-LEFT-HANDLEBAR-SWITCHES-CONTROLS-/252042520444?hash=item3aaee7a77c:g:FpgAAOSwHnFVurr ~&vxp=mtr

Usually the blinkers are on the right and left side.... But I think I remember some jap bikes in the 70s had both on the right side...

Yea those are both on the right side but you will need the rest of the harness for it to work.... Good luck...

lcheredaryk
11-29-2015, 10:02 PM
65799 Here is a screen capture of the switch wiring colors for the VN1500 for 2006 like your post. Hope it helps out.

H20Rider
11-30-2015, 9:41 AM
Thanks.
I took the unit apart and found that the blinker switch is set up for only triggering one light. Never having a bike with turn signals, I just assumed that a switch that has three position and is labeled with arrows in both directions would operate both blinkers. Perhaps some DOT regulation prevented this. Ah well, back to the drawing board. Might be easier just to surgically install lights on my shoulder blades.... at least then, I wouldn't clutter up my bike.

lcheredaryk
12-01-2015, 7:27 AM
Something as simple as this switch will take care of your turn signals for you. Price is good as well.
http://www.steadfastcycles.com/cart/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=171_172&products_id=4354
Or this one:
http://www.tcbroschoppers.com/universal-compact-handlebar-multi-switch-for-7-8-bars-hi-lo-beam-turn-signal-horn.html