PDA

View Full Version : iChambers Suzuki GS750L build thread.

ichambers
06-13-2015, 4:50 PM
Hey everybody! Im excited to be a new member of the forum. To introduce myself a bit, I am a product designer and I develop concepts for new products and give direction to the evolution of existing products. I have a little back ground with auto body work and minor fabrication but nothing major. My first motorcycle was a 1983 honda GL500. It was a great first bike, but when my brother in law got in a motorcycle accident and almost lost his leg, my wife freaked out a bit and urged me to sell the bike. Well a little more than 2 years have passed and I miss riding. I am working in the motorcycle industry now as well so that wasn't helping the urge to buy a bike again so here I am. It wont be my primary transportation, more of a 1-2 time a week ride to work and an occasional ride on the weekend. <br>
I purchased a 1979 GS750L. It was a pretty good deal but needs a little work, like syncing up the carbs replacing a leaking valve cover gasket and some other very minor fixes.
<br><br>
Here is a picture of the bike as I bought it. <br>
61099<br>
I know some people will say that is is in great stock condition and to keep it as it is, but that is not what i bought it for. <br> <br> My plan is to do a fairly practical build without too much major modifications. I will be reworking the sub frame a bit, repainting (red is not my style), swap out the bars, get a lower seat height as I am a bit vertically challenged at 5'5", and swap out the lights and guages for some more modern sleeker technology, but not particularly in that order. <br><br> I am kinda just gonna see where this build goes as it is a pretty budget build i will have work with the best I can afford to do. Although I do have an image in my head of what I would like the bike to end up looking like it tends to evolve and shift as new ideas come up during the build. <br><br>