PDA

View Full Version : starting a first time build looking for some advice on bike choices

dillion67
05-11-2015, 8:01 PM
everyone I'm new to your forum's and am interested in starting up a new project bike.
I am new to bike building "as in i have never done it" but not new to motorcycles i use to have a suzuki dr 650.
I would like something easy to learn on i have some knowledge with electrical so this might be helpful.
i was looking at a honda but the guy told me the wrong make and year after posting the pictures on a few different sites i came to the conclusion that what he was selling a cm400 maybe 82 or 83 attached is a pic
he is 5 hours away so i told him never mind as some other form members on the honda site suggested against this i also have a non running gs850g local that is 500 obo but dose not run they said it ran 2 years ago and that i might just be the battery*

here is the honda he claims it to be a honda cb400 first he said 82 then i asked about it and he said 83

WhiteRooster
05-11-2015, 8:29 PM
look for a honda vt500 or vt600 they sound and ride great. and are easy to work on

deathmetaldan
05-12-2015, 4:20 AM
best advice is, dont be in a hurry to get a bike. If something the seller says sounds a little off or they cant keep the story straight, dont risk it. There are lots of people selling bikes everyday so no need to throw your money away at the first one you see. If you dont want to mess with the engine, make sure the bike runs and rides without issue. Get it warmed up and run it through all the gears and hopefully anything bad will show.

Take a flashlight when you go to look at it and look at every single piece, take out a spark plug and see if its all gunked up. If you have an inspection camera look at the cylinders. If the seller has nothing to hide there wont be an issue with any of this but if they get shakey you might find something minor that they are trying to hide and you could get a good deal because they feel embarrassed.