PDA

View Full Version : I reall need help pulling my hair out



ReverendSavage
04-21-2015, 9:18 AM
the previous owner started this build and lost interest leaving it in peices all over his shop, now with a big move infront of him, I worked out a deal to help if i could have the bike to re assymble... I don't even know the exact kind of bike it is, aside from honda 400, which is all he could remember until he can unpack and find the title paperwork...... figured i could figure this out but I can't find a wiring diagram, that matches up, and i want it absolutly bare bones anyway, no key just master on/off toggleswitch from bat to supply power, tail and headlight come on from that main switch at the same time, I'll add other features i want later, once i understand what im doing a little clearer I just need to get her to power up and turn over, If anyone can help identifiying her model or year a little closer then, since thebegining of time till now that would help narrow down wireing diagrams... i included a picture i took while makeing adjustments and cosmetic changes, i'm pretty impressed so far anyway....... but I just don't understand , he feed three wire harness starts, into the space under the seat i have attached a picture i just need to tie it all together but i don't know what does what or goes where... I could just really use some schoolin I jumped in wa over my head in this area anyway..... 59201 59202

Dieselchanic
04-21-2015, 10:46 AM
Do you have color coded wires coming out of the motor and reg/rec? If so, attach pics if you can, and pics of the switches you want to use. I can draw you up a new wiring diagram that will work and gave everything you'll need, I just need a bit of a visual to get some idea of what you have.

To wire a bike properly, it takes a little money. You'll need a fuse block and a relay at least. I'm talking bare bones minimal with like 5 wires on the whole bike... But if you do it right, it's easy to read what's going on and the entire system is protected from failure.

goofyfoot2001
04-21-2015, 12:42 PM
I'd like to see a quick diagram on a napkin of a bare bones bike wiring diagram myself. Maybe two, one with directionals. If you have a few minutes.

ReverendSavage
04-21-2015, 1:14 PM
59208

Dieselchanic
04-21-2015, 1:26 PM
<img src="http://www.chopcult.com/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=59208"/>

Ok. I'll take a look this evening to see if I can find a stock diagram to go off.. Should be straightforward.

Dieselchanic
04-21-2015, 1:29 PM
I'll just leave this here so we know where it's at...

http://oldmanhonda.com/MC/WiringDiagrams/CB400A.jpg

59210

EVILBLACKSABRE
04-21-2015, 5:12 PM
I'll just leave this here so we know where it's at...

http://oldmanhonda.com/MC/WiringDiagrams/CB400A.jpg

59210Christ! Is that a bike, or a nuclear reactor?! ;)

It's a wonder these things work at all.

Stock wiring diagrams give me a headache. I only use mine for the wire color codes, then I just figure stuff out as I go along. So far, so good.

ReverendSavage
04-22-2015, 3:12 PM
Any luck?

whitey818
04-22-2015, 6:18 PM
http://i73.photobucket.com/albums/i237/Whitey818/Custom_Motorcycle_Wiring_Diagram_no_battery_by_Eva n_Fell_zpsw8hsxqhf.png (http://s73.photobucket.com/user/Whitey818/media/Custom_Motorcycle_Wiring_Diagram_no_battery_by_Eva n_Fell_zpsw8hsxqhf.png.html)

http://i73.photobucket.com/albums/i237/Whitey818/Custom_Motorcycle_Wiring_Diagram_by_Evan_Fell_zpse nkr9amy.png (http://s73.photobucket.com/user/Whitey818/media/Custom_Motorcycle_Wiring_Diagram_by_Evan_Fell_zpse nkr9amy.png.html)

These are what I use, very simple.

Dieselchanic
04-22-2015, 7:05 PM
Still working on it. What whitey818 posted are good, and similar to what I use. However, I usually run everything through a fuse box for redundancy. Trouble is with this bike is the CDI box. With points it's dead simple, but throw that igniter in the mix and you have to use it and all kinds of wires coming and going. I'm sorting it out though and should be able to get you a readable color diagram.

At least the diagram I have for what I think is your bike shows CDI. Do you know if yours has it?

ReverendSavage
04-22-2015, 8:01 PM
I don't know I haven't seen one but thats one of the things lot of diagrams are showing, I am buying a fuse box today shucks carries them for less then 10 but , from what i read a cdi is expensive and id have to order off line

ReverendSavage
04-22-2015, 8:03 PM
Is it possible to just ditch that , I dont give damn about it if we dont need it

Dieselchanic
04-22-2015, 8:21 PM
Ok. Here's what I came up with. IF you have a CDI bike I think this will work. I use 10 gauge wire from the battery to the main relay and on to the fuse block. You can use 18 gauge from there. I would suggest scrapping everything you have and starting over to simplify things and so it is all new and you know what you have. using this relay and fuse block setup allows you to have a seperate circuit and fuse for each function and also allows you to run any switch for your main power without ever worrying about it failing. I've used micro push button switches from Radio Shack as my igniton switch with no problems. There's one gang left open on the fuse block that you could use for whatever you need.. if you have a starter you could run the power to your starter button from there.. I may have missed some stuff, I don't know. I'm kinda zoned out right now from staring at wiring diagrams. I will attach links showing the fuse block, relay, and inline fuse holder I normally use.

59277

The diagram seems to have uploaded smallish and I can't figure out how to get it any bigger, sorry. Maybe you can download it and blow it up.

http://www.amazon.com/Pico-0911pt-6-Gang-Fuse-Block/dp/B0045WXXEE/ref=sr_1_8?ie=UTF8&qid=1429754960&sr=8-8&keywords=6+gang+fuse+block

http://www.amazon.com/Auto-Truck-Relay-Socket-SPDT/dp/B007JPPQH6/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1429755047&sr=8-2&keywords=40+amp+relay

http://www.amazon.com/-line-ACT-Water-resistant-Fuse-Holder/dp/B0002KR88A/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1429755076&sr=8-2&keywords=inline+fuse+holder

Dieselchanic
04-22-2015, 8:24 PM
Is it possible to just ditch that , I dont give damn about it if we dont need it

You'll need the CDI. Its the brains of the electronic ignition. Unless your bike has points, there's no getting around it.

ReverendSavage
04-22-2015, 11:46 PM
WOW this is so helpful! the color coding alone, wow, thank you! the only thing I think missed is the nuetral safety switch, is that important, I'm pretty sure thats justa idiot switch right? also for clairification, on the ignition wire, those are just cross overs ,not connections, yes? second thought, is there something I could take a picture of to know for sure if its a cdi bike

Dieselchanic
04-23-2015, 11:41 AM
Neutral safety switch will be a starter lockout I'm sure. You could run your power through it to the starter button so it wouldn't start in gear... Not mandatory though.

All the crossovers are just that, no connections. If you have those colored wires coming out of the motor along with your 3 yellow stator wires, it will most likely be cdi. Easiest way to check is pull off any small covers on the engine and see if there's points anywhere. If not, it's cdi.

This is what points look like:


59296

Dieselchanic
04-23-2015, 3:23 PM
I'm sorry, there IS a connection in the ignition wire. I circled where you need to connect. The ignition switch AND the reg/rec need to be connected to the main power wire before the fuse block. See the updated diagram.

59302

whitey818
04-24-2015, 1:34 AM
Very nice Diesel, I forget about bikes having electronic ignition, lol.

goofyfoot2001
04-24-2015, 7:15 AM
Ok. Here's what I came up with. IF you have a CDI bike I think this will work. I use 10 gauge wire from the battery to the main relay and on to the fuse block. You can use 18 gauge from there. I would suggest scrapping everything you have and starting over to simplify things and so it is all new and you know what you have. using this relay and fuse block setup allows you to have a seperate circuit and fuse for each function and also allows you to run any switch for your main power without ever worrying about it failing. I've used micro push button switches from Radio Shack as my igniton switch with no problems. There's one gang left open on the fuse block that you could use for whatever you need.. if you have a starter you could run the power to your starter button from there.. I may have missed some stuff, I don't know. I'm kinda zoned out right now from staring at wiring diagrams. I will attach links showing the fuse block, relay, and inline fuse holder I normally use.

59277

The diagram seems to have uploaded smallish and I can't figure out how to get it any bigger, sorry. Maybe you can download it and blow it up.

http://www.amazon.com/Pico-0911pt-6-Gang-Fuse-Block/dp/B0045WXXEE/ref=sr_1_8?ie=UTF8&qid=1429754960&sr=8-8&keywords=6+gang+fuse+block

http://www.amazon.com/Auto-Truck-Relay-Socket-SPDT/dp/B007JPPQH6/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1429755047&sr=8-2&keywords=40+amp+relay

http://www.amazon.com/-line-ACT-Water-resistant-Fuse-Holder/dp/B0002KR88A/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1429755076&sr=8-2&keywords=inline+fuse+holder

Get a free Photobucket.com account and upload yuour photos to that and then just attach the link and your pictures can be larger.

Dieselchanic
04-24-2015, 11:49 AM
Get a free Photobucket.com account and upload yuour photos to that and then just attach the link and your pictures can be larger.

I've got one but the site was all screwy on the pc the other night and wouldn't work. I tried it....

ReverendSavage
04-26-2015, 2:29 PM
The problem is the wires go into the stock of the body , where i cant see shit i cant even get my hand in there to feel around the space is so small let me see what i can do to get you some more pics

Dieselchanic
04-27-2015, 12:47 PM
You mean the wires go inside the frame, or what? Really all you need to worry about is what's coming out of the motor. Locate all the wires that come out of the motor and the plugs on them. If you can find them and snap some pics we'll be getting somewhere.

Wolfie
04-27-2015, 5:22 PM
The main confusing problem with Jap bikes, is that they run extra grounds to everything since they use so much plastic (signals, etc)......if yer buildin a chop....shitcan them grounds, since ya KNOW you will be goin metal to metal (RIGHT ???).....okay....nowthen....the wiring harness will be about 80% lighter with that many less wires.....

I just walked a buddy out in Iowa thru this.....rip out all the wires if yer goin custom....cut off all the tabs and useless shit (etc).....then ya wire from scratch....first thing ya need is spark/charging...wire fer that....next ya need horn, lights, signals and bullshit....thats LAST......biggest thing about modding Jappers, is to ground all to the frame.....after that, even if ya run a non metal accessory, ya just drill and tap a small hole nearby and run a ground from there.....

Jap wiring is WAYYYYYYYYyyyy overkill......