PDA

View Full Version : Looking for options on my suzuki gs650

beardedxglory
03-31-2015, 10:39 PM
Finally got her home last week and I'm dying to get her on the road. I plan on getting it ridable then working towards a brat style cafe. Problem is Im new to the fabricating world and I figure this is a great place for some advice. My tank is rusted and beat to shit and im debating if its worth the effort of trying to save it. Ive also been told the front forks MAY be bent but im not seeing it. So my big questions are what tanks are you guys running other than stock and what kind of forks are easy to swap on the gs'? Also wheres a good place to find fiberglass and resin to build my own seat? I plan lowering the rear with smaller shocks and making a cafe seat with more of a dovetail shape instead of the bump. Looking forward to some Inspiration!

Magnificentbastard
04-01-2015, 6:37 AM
Finally got her home last week and I'm dying to get her on the road. I plan on getting it ridable then working towards a brat style cafe. Problem is Im new to the fabricating world and I figure this is a great place for some advice. My tank is rusted and beat to shit and im debating if its worth the effort of trying to save it. Ive also been told the front forks MAY be bent but im not seeing it. So my big questions are what tanks are you guys running other than stock and what kind of forks are easy to swap on the gs'? Also wheres a good place to find fiberglass and resin to build my own seat? I plan lowering the rear with smaller shocks and making a cafe seat with more of a dovetail shape instead of the bump. Looking forward to some Inspiration!

http://cdn.meme.am/instances/500x/50530327.jpg

loddytoddy
04-01-2015, 7:15 AM
gs's aren't the easiest to "cafe" or what ever. you're gonna be making a lot of your own shit.. nothing bolt on or after market for these bikes.
I have a gs 750 and everything I had to do myself. the local auto parts store has fiberglass and resin for your seat.