PDA

View Full Version : 1983 kz550 ltd

Tbowie84
03-24-2015, 2:50 PM
I'm in the process of converting my 1983 Kz550 to a bobber. Here's how far I've gotten... Any input is appreciated!!

heshmonster
03-25-2015, 12:43 AM
I'll be interested to see where this goes. I'll be starting on a hardtail job for my '83 KZ750 Spectre this fall. Not trying to split hairs with you but I think yours is a Spectre also, not LTD. They're very similar but the paint job and air shocks point to the Spectre, just an FYI no disrespect meant.

Tbowie84
03-25-2015, 4:52 AM
None taken!!! Thanks for the info! I looked and saw 550F on the info plate. Does that mean anything in particular? I'm pretty new to this, so all info is welcomed! Also thinking about removing rear air shocks, and going to springs. What u think?

heshmonster
03-25-2015, 5:13 AM
The rears can be swapped for just about anything as long as the mounts line up. I've seen lots of guys do it.

As for the tag, check on the right side of the engine/crank case. There should be a tag around the oil cap that will have the 750N designation if it is a Specter.

Tbowie84
03-25-2015, 5:41 AM
Ok. Today I'm going to start removing the motor to clean it up, and to get the frame ready to paint. This is the look in going for.

Tbowie84
03-25-2015, 6:06 AM
Also, I want to lowering front and rear end. Do u think this kit would work for the rear? Looks like it'll bolt right up where I need it to go.

heshmonster
03-25-2015, 8:29 AM