PDA

View Full Version : What to do? Wiring conundrum



dylanjoseph29
02-11-2015, 6:01 PM
So I bought a airs style triangle headlight from lowbrow. Its single filament bulb with just a hot and a ground. My stock light has high/low. I think the new light is 12v 55 watt and my old one the same. ran on a ten amp fuse. it lit up for a second than just started blowing fuses. What do I do?? I've got a 96 vlx

Wolfie
02-11-2015, 6:24 PM
...obviously, you fooked up somewhere....is it a sealed beam ?...if not, remove the shit bulb...dispose of in the darkest place ya know (WEG), and replace it with a dual filament...ehhh ???...no brainer, right ?....

dylanjoseph29
02-11-2015, 7:06 PM
Sealed beam? What could be blowin the fuse ? Wires aren't touchin eachother or anything else. Low beam to hot. Ground to ground. High beam wire cut and hangin. Must be that right? Fook this. I like the the single so my hi/low switch worked like on off. why can't I just be a genius or something

jethro57
02-11-2015, 7:28 PM
only hot and ground??? sure you got correct light??

Hotel
02-11-2015, 7:32 PM
hell, go 20a fuse and see what happens! o.O. i wouldnt go any higher......

dylanjoseph29
02-11-2015, 8:11 PM
56608 this light

Porch
02-11-2015, 8:34 PM
Some of the reviewers on the lowbrow page say the wiring of the light can be wrong. Open the light and make sure they did it right at the factory.

dylanjoseph29
02-12-2015, 4:09 PM
Got it. The light came with a black and a white wire. Guess which one is ground. White. I just had the wires mixed up. It worked before I mounted the light on the bike so I thought I had it right. Me + honda shadow= Short bus

Hotel
02-12-2015, 4:21 PM
odd.. glad you got it figured out!

dxxsilva
02-13-2015, 5:36 PM
you can use diodes and a resister to get the light to dim and brighten