PDA

View Full Version : Verify my Rear brake fab setup. Or break my balls.

Thearmymademedumb
04-20-2014, 8:04 AM
Gentlemen, this is my first build and I'm learning a lot along the way. 1999 sportster 1200c with a Road 6 Customs hardtail with 200 tire. I need advice on my rear brake idea.

I want to drill two holes in the rear supports. Behind this (between plate and caliper bracket) I would weld on a piece of bar stock to act as a spacer as well as to reinforce.
http://i.imgur.com/PdYYkV2.jpg

For the bracket, I would cut two parallel channels to allow adjustment/ease of tire removal. I plan on using an un-welded weld nut or have a t-nut designed.
http://i.imgur.com/EJZoo08.jpg

Please advise on this idea. I have not found anything like it in my research so I just want verification from the resident geniuses. Thanks.

spidr
04-20-2014, 10:25 AM
You only need one bolt, since it only stops it from rotating, but you want it as far out as possible. The reason you dont really see it done is because where you have it drawn it sees 2-3 times as much load as it would out near the caliper bolts.

Thearmymademedumb
04-20-2014, 7:24 PM
I understand the applied torque issue, which is why I designed for two bolts and plan to use grade 8. I really don't want to weld tabs to the rear tubes for the cleanliness factor....

70schop
04-20-2014, 7:33 PM
Don't weld a tab. Drill the inside of the frame tube and weld in a bung into the tube then have your mount bolt up there. Hidden, clean mount and much stronger out toward the caliper bolts.

Thearmymademedumb
04-20-2014, 8:45 PM
What's the minimum bolt diameter I could get away with?

RetroRob
04-21-2014, 5:04 PM
Don't forget chain adjustment. Two bolts Is a pain it the ass to get right. I'd use at least 5/16 grade 8 bolts . 3/8 is better

Choppasaki
04-25-2014, 7:26 PM