PDA

View Full Version : Sticker B-Gone!

DaddysDevil666
02-16-2010, 6:52 AM
Hey guys…

This may be a really dumb question... but I’m a novice at this and I’ve always been told… it’s better to ask then to screw something up!

I'd like to remove the Honda decals on my tank. I want to keep the color, but I want the decals gone (think they're probably just under one or two coats of clear).

So, what’s the best way to lose the decals? I was thinking of wet sanding with a fine grit sand paper?

ridemore16
02-16-2010, 7:29 AM
I've used a heat gun to heat the clear and the decal lifted. I've done this on bicycle frames as well, both aluminum and steel so I can't imagine it not working on a tank.

wickedblockhead
02-16-2010, 7:51 AM
i have used some shit called goo be gone before with great success

DaddysDevil666
02-16-2010, 8:12 AM
So the decal isn't really under the clear then...? Sure does feel like it.

ridemore16
02-16-2010, 8:16 AM
the heat gun way works if the decal is under clearcoat. it heats up the clear and you can take a razor blade and pry up a corner of the decal.

DaddysDevil666
02-16-2010, 8:17 AM
the heat gun way works if the decal is under clearcoat. it heats up the clear and you can take a razor blade and pry up a corner of the decal.

Thanks ridemore! I appreciate it!

framus
02-16-2010, 8:18 AM
If it's under the clear, it will take mechanical means to remove. I just took a peeling water transfer decal off of a buddy's Triumph only to find a faded water transfer decal under some clearcoat underneith. Brilliant! What's the old saying about pissing into the wind?

EDIT: Hopefully what's under the decal is acceptable.

reverendpk9
02-16-2010, 8:59 AM
Get an astro wheel from snap on ataches to a drill and pulls everything without damaging the paint. I have used them for years to take logos and pins off cars, just have to go slow. They run about 10 bucks.

oldmansporty63
02-16-2010, 9:20 AM