PDA

View Full Version : I just bought this lathe. Good deal?

n8ball
01-05-2013, 11:47 AM
My wife was at an estate auction and called me about this south bend lathe. Bought it over the phone for $1100. Good deal?
http://i214.photobucket.com/albums/cc184/n8_ball707/55D806BB-orig.jpg

purerockfury
01-05-2013, 12:10 PM
i've been looking at them on craigslist and seen a lot of them ranging from $500 to 1500, i'm no expert but depending on what tooling is in that cabinet it could be a "Fair" price...

livingdeadmc
01-05-2013, 12:14 PM
Not awful depending on its working condition and what it includes. I bought my Logan 825 for about 1/4th that.. But I see these pop up on CL in Michigan for 700-1000.

But fuck it... Make shit and sell it. It'll pay for itself in no time.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Tapatalk 2

tattoo2303
01-05-2013, 12:23 PM
if i had the space and money id be pumped about it, besides if ya already bought it no sense turning a positive into a negative

70schop
01-05-2013, 12:25 PM
Horrible deal, terrible, send it to me and I'll dispose of it for you! From what I've seen in my area depending on working condition etc I'd say its fair

dirtbag
01-05-2013, 12:40 PM
Really depends on where you are,up here in pickup truck country,that would be a great buy,anyway dosent really matter as now you have a lathe,a few hundred or thousand dollars if its doable is well worth spending to have a lathe,your the man,well maybe not but you do have a lathe..

n8ball
01-05-2013, 12:55 PM
You guys are right, I already bought it. F'it. Im stoked about it. Now just gotta find a way to get it home. Any good sites to learn how to use it? I know NOTHING bout lathes. I just know that they can be handy once you learn how to use it.

livingdeadmc
01-05-2013, 1:00 PM