PDA

View Full Version : slippin to the darkside....

teamnaptime
02-09-2010, 1:47 AM
so, i kinda grew up around bikes... in a round about sort of way.

when i was younger, around, 85, my stepdad bought a 72 ironhead 1000cc sportster. it didnt run. he spent 3 years building that bike. it was laid out on our enclosed front porch for 3 solid years.

him and his buddies would get together on the weekends and built the rigid frame. the seat pan. put a springer on it. the works. every day he would take a part to work and machine a new part (he was a machinist by trade.) i remember every day he would come home and show me the new part he built, no matter how big or small. or a new part that he had cleaned, painted, etc...

three years watching him build that bike.

three years of sneaking out to the porch and staring at parts that i wasnt allowed to touch.

then finally the day came... the bike was together.. it was almost ready for its maiden voyage. by happenstance, or by plan, it fell on my baby sisters first birthday party.. everyone was there.. he was big in abate at the time, and was the chapter treasurer or sgt at arms, or something along those lines... the whole chapter was at the house, partying all day long, and finishing up the final touches on the bike.

until finally.... they started it...

i'll never forget that sound...

he took it around the block. everything worked fine.. they loaded up and away they went... 30 or more bikes, off into the sunset for its maiden voyage.

2 hours later we got the call... meet us at the hospital.

well, remember when i said they partied all day long while finishing the bike... naturally, that included BEER. lots and lots of it.

well, while out on thier ride, one of the guys in the group, hit a curb and mucked up his rim. so the bike got parked, and they were heading back to the house to get a truck to go back and pick up the bike.