PDA

View Full Version : Last Minute Fender Chopping Suggestions?

HFMC
12-24-2012, 11:53 AM
Day after tomorrow, I'll be helping my daughter chop the rear fender on her Sporty. I'm using a die grinder with a metal cutting disc, and I'll be cutting off the very bottom of the fender to use as a template for the final cut. My plan is to draw the line, cut close with the cutting wheel, then remove the fender and use the bench grinder to clean it up.

I've done a search on here, read the threads, looked at the photos, and even watched a video on YouTube. I've cut to trailer type fenders before, but this is my first attempt at cutting a regular curved fender. Those of you who have daughters know what kind of hell I'll endure if I foul this up! Any last minute suggestions, tips, or tricks I should know? Anything is appreciated.

Merry Christmas

Jetblack
12-24-2012, 11:56 AM
A nice strip of masking tape along the edge of the intended cut keeps my cuts like that straighter than just a magic marker line, a line has two sides and a middle. When the tape just has that one edge; as a fence to not cross.

purerockfury
12-24-2012, 12:02 PM
A nice strip of masking tape along the edge of the intended cut keeps my cuts like that straighter than just a magic marker line, a line has two sides and a middle. When the tape just has that one edge; as a fence to not cross.

i usually mark it out with a marker as it's easy to clean off and start over but as stated when i figure out where and how i want to cut it i tape it off, gives you a nice straight line to follow as stated above!

nate00
12-24-2012, 12:07 PM
I used a skill saw with a metal blade. cut like butter and didnt screw up the paint at all. and it was easier to make the curves with. i finished off with some door trim molding from autozone.

planningoncrashing
12-24-2012, 1:01 PM