PDA

View Full Version : Need help wiring new tail light



tyeavic
12-15-2012, 6:32 PM
Got new tail light that has 2 wire (red and black) and stock has 3 (yellow, blue, and black).
Has a similar post the other with new blinker which turned out to be self grounding. Don't think this is the case.

vnygra
12-15-2012, 6:47 PM
Well try it out. Use a 12 volt battery. Ground the body to the neg and put one wire on the pos. Is the bulb dual filament? Would guess ground body. One run, one brake.

Ember
12-15-2012, 8:33 PM
One wire brake, other running light. Most likely body grounded. As other poster stated, try hooking it to a 12v power supply and test.

yzf250
12-16-2012, 8:54 AM
on the new one black is ground red is brake switch on your bike black is ground and the two ether two wires one is brake light one is tail light use a test light and the will tell you which one is brake and which one is tail light