PDA

View Full Version : XS Question -Motor mount



RickinWA
01-31-2010, 9:36 AM
I recently saw a photo of an xs chop that has NO top motor mount..... anyone ever do this? if yes any detriment other than the extra vibration?

Punkskalar
01-31-2010, 11:18 AM
I don't run a top mount, didn't have room for it... My engine is re-phased, so its smoother running though.

My old roommate has a stock engine without a top mount as well in his hardtail. It shook, but nothing else was really a problem....

philbey
02-01-2010, 11:58 PM
I've read up that Triumph's will split crankcases without the top mount, dunno about XS's though.

I've semi designed a nice compact item (in my mind) that I was going to fab out of stainless for my bike.

The factory one is ugly and is packed with rubber vibration isolation, so it's probably a good idea.....

Punkskalar
02-03-2010, 8:54 AM
I don't think the top mount on XS's has any rubber in them??

justinspace
02-03-2010, 9:25 AM
http://i400.photobucket.com/albums/pp81/justinspace77/motormount.jpg

philbey
02-03-2010, 5:06 PM
maybe they don't have rubber, I actually don't have any for mine - I was going through my mates box of XS bits and found a set of them and just assumed they were XS ones!

RickinWA
02-04-2010, 12:33 AM
I don't think the top mount on XS's has any rubber in them??

my 77 and my 80 both have some rubber in the mount... they both are a three piece odd set up.

I have seen a couple diff chops done without the top mount, I tend to think the engineers knew what they were doing but I also wanted to know if anyone has ran without....

philbey
02-04-2010, 5:44 PM
yeh, that 3 piece arrangement was the one I found in the box.