PDA

View Full Version : Need help deciding

Deaver
10-06-2012, 9:27 PM
I started a poll on which project to start with. If y'all could let me know what ya think it be appreciated. I'm new to the Cult and new to bikes. Grew up in a house where they were death traps, being older and wiser they are art on the open road. Trying to make up for lost time so help is appreciated.

hdchopfather
10-06-2012, 10:13 PM
i think any of them done right, would be a scoot worthy of the road! i dont know much about the vtx, but i have built a couple and seen countless kick ass cbs, and xs chops

Deaver
10-06-2012, 11:03 PM
That's where I'm leaning. I'm trying to find a cb or xs that is just factory right now. thanks man

heretic530
10-06-2012, 11:38 PM
Both the CB hondas and the XS yamas have been done to death. The problem with both is that most have not had easy lives. They were the quintessential "budget" bikes 20 years ago, so most have been beat on. Very few have really been taken care of. Take into consideration that metal quality was not the best on any of the metric bikes of that era, and you realize that an XS or a CB rebuild may not be the cheapest bike to own, in the long run. There are still some decent ones out there, but Unless you know what to look for, it is pretty easy to be taken advantage of

based on this, I would take another look at the VTX. , or anything in the yamaha star line. The VTX is large enough to haul a larger man around, and even a lady or enough gear for a weekend at a rally. The star I through in, because they are my favorite of the metric cruisers

Irishprick
10-07-2012, 12:17 AM
XS would be my pick and i've had both cb and xs customs and like the xs alittle better.i'd just find a good one thow. VTX are shaft drive if im think'n rite makes it a bit tricky to chop

Deaver
10-07-2012, 12:37 AM
They are shaft drive. Like I said, I'm new to all of this. Why does that make it harder to chop?

spookperdue
10-07-2012, 12:40 AM