PDA

View Full Version : Advice on avoiding "blue" chrome pipes

ridemore16
01-23-2010, 10:07 PM
I've got some new pipes on the way for my Triumph. The old timer I bought the bike from recommended painting the inside of the new pipes with High-Temp paint to avoid bluing. Does anyone know if this works...if not, can anyone recommend what to do to avoid the blue?

KT
01-23-2010, 10:59 PM
The "oldtimer" is right ...Tape the end shut fill that pipe with paint roll it around tape the other end after a bit repeat process from opposite end let dry ...it works if done right...

TRUMPNUT
01-24-2010, 4:26 AM
Or just jet it right !

ridemore16
01-24-2010, 7:05 AM
thanks KT...can you suggest a type/brand of paint? Would hi-temp engine enamel work?

--Trumpnut, I assure you I'm going to try and dial in the carbs to avoid bluing altogether. This is my first build and I'm no Amal expert by any stretch!

Speedfiend
01-24-2010, 8:50 AM
I'ved heard of the painting trick,never tried it though. I tend to just run my mix a little on the fat side.

Torch
01-24-2010, 10:36 AM
I've got some new pipes on the way for my Triumph. The old timer I bought the bike from recommended painting the inside of the new pipes with High-Temp paint to avoid bluing. Does anyone know if this works...if not, can anyone recommend what to do to avoid the blue?

Pipe bluing is an indicator of other issues, like too lean of mixture or incorrect timing. too advanced and too retarded will cause this. when all the setting are correct you may get a little gold on the pipes but never blue or black.
When we do a new motor we use a set of old pipes to tune in the engine.and we use an infra-red temp measuring gun to set the mixture and on dual carb bikes to equalize the carbs.
Bluing will happen sometimes on bikes with Hunt mags because they have a fixed timing setting at idle (38 deg.) and no advance mechanism. but you can fatten up the pilot circuit to compensate
for this.

KT
01-24-2010, 11:02 AM