PDA

View Full Version : Amal issues

Dustriumph
01-20-2010, 8:08 PM
I'm having some terrific fun trying to get my 66' 650 to behave.
Let me begin by stating that this is a pretty fresh motor ( under 2000 miles) NEW amal 930's and I'm a total fucking rookie.
Here is how my problem goes: My bike ran fine in colorado. Rode it up to northern wyoming and back with no trouble. Since then I've moved out to Portland Oregon. I rode my bike into the truck to move it out here. When I roll it out I've got one cylinder, the left, that won't run quite right. Pretty much only running on one. I can choke the left carb by hand (and I mean CHOKE. 90 percent covered on the carb throat) and when the carb suck a bit harder that cylinder catches for several rpm the craps out.
I've checked spark, got it strong on both sides.
Timing seems to be fine, no kick back whilst kick starting. Even only running on one cylinder as it is the bike still fires in 2 kicks.
I've thought of jetting but the other carb is running fine, nice chocolate plug coloring.
I pulled both carbs apart and they both have the same main jets (200's), same slides, same needles.
Today I took the carbs off and switched them side to side. Now my dead cylinder is on the right, so I can be fairly certain that my problem is in my carb and not somewhere else.
Now my issue is that i have pulled this carb apart several times already and cleaned it out. I've got air flow through the two little holes at the back of the carb body. There is not even any gas staining in the float bowels yet.
I've read a few tid bits here and there about the pilot jet getting gunked up but my carbs are new so that bit is blocked off.
Is there a way to clean it since it's internally metered?
Anyone else have any experience with their carb suddenly going to shit?
So gents, any ideas?