PDA

View Full Version : Flyrite, Smoking Gun frame question

sam13
08-07-2012, 1:04 PM
Hey guys, Im wanting to order the smokin gun frame from flyrite for an 02 sporty. Im just needing some input on what I'll need with this frame, as in,do I need a specific size oilbag or battery box and with a 33 degree rake will I still be able to run my stock front end on it. Im new to this building stuff so any feedback would be great. Thanks.

Incrediblah
08-07-2012, 1:19 PM
It's definitely a tight frame, which is one of things I liked about it. Oil bag should be at least 3 qts, but there's plenty of room in there to play around with different styles. You will have to weld, or get someone else to weld all of your brackets and mounts though.

Battery can fit pretty well behind the seat post, but the stock size/weight batter will be a tight fit. I ended up going with one of the super small lithium batteries from Shorai, and it worked great on top of being half the size and only weighing about 2 lbs.

You can run your stock font end, but keep in mind this frame sits LOW. Ultimately this is why I sold it. I had 3.25" of clearance at best. Determine if that will be dangerous for you depending on where you live/ride because it's definitely a factor. I live and ride in LA, and a lot of the roads and freeways are like riding on the moon. I rode it quite often, but CONSTANTLY scanning the road ahead, looking for the slightest bump or pot hole got old.

You could look into running a taller rear tire like the Avon MKII on a 16 or a 19 and get around 4" or so. The stock front end will probably give you a little more clearance than I had in the front, but you most likely won't be sitting perfectly level with most 16" rear wheel/tires and your stock forks.

Good luck!

sam13
08-07-2012, 2:36 PM