PDA

View Full Version : Amal Choke



RetroRob
06-23-2012, 2:21 PM
Just got a new Amal 930 for my 650 Triumph. Trying to keep the bars clear of all unnecessary cluter so dont want the stock choke cable. Not sure if I even need a choke, but was wondering if its best to plug the hole, remove the choke slide, or rig up a simple mechanism to control the choke from on top of the carb.

Speedfiend
06-23-2012, 4:10 PM
They are entirely unnessecery. Remove the choke slides and put a dab of silicone in the hole in the cap.
.

TRUMPNUT
06-23-2012, 4:39 PM
+ 1 ^ . They are only good for distroying the top end . The little lever on the bars vibrates down and runs the mixture way to rich washing the oil off the cylinder walls .

Gepetto
06-23-2012, 8:00 PM
Amal makes a plug that screws into the hole, I'm just not a fan of the silicon blob.

RetroRob
06-23-2012, 8:54 PM
Just removed the slide and spring. Couldn't find a screw that fit so left the cable guide in the top and simply stuck a tire valve cap over the guide, plugging the hole. Works for now.

Pete
06-25-2012, 7:43 AM
Doing the same thing myself, do you need to rejet the carb or anything special?