PDA

View Full Version : Front Brake



coachstorms
12-28-2009, 9:34 AM
On the xs650 the front brake line is divided into an upper and lower half - is there any reason that I cant just run one solid line??

tobiism
12-28-2009, 4:48 PM
Does it have the brake light switch between the upper and lower half? If so thats the only thing you'll lose by running one solid line. I'm sure 80% of us here are running no front brake switch.

coachstorms
12-28-2009, 5:46 PM
thanks, goin with the one piece for sure.

viz
12-28-2009, 9:43 PM
Im runnin a one piece line. Looks way cleaner.

coachstorms
12-29-2009, 10:21 AM
viz - thats one of my favorite bikes right there - great work. That headlight speedo is dope. How long is the brake line that your running now?

philbey
01-04-2010, 10:20 PM
I was just in the brake shop yesterday talking to them about bringing in my front end and getting them to slap up some lines for me. I reckon I'll just do what Viz has done now! Maybe I'll tether it to the lower clamp though, so it's not flapping aroudn too much.

viz
01-04-2010, 10:49 PM
J, I sent you a pm about the brake line as soon as I saw your message. The line is around 22 to 24 inches long for anyone who wants to know the length. There is a decent amount of slack in it left at that length.

Philbey, I have it wire tied in one spot and it doesnt move at all.

coachstorms
01-05-2010, 9:41 AM
thanks viz - have you lowered your forks yet or no?

viz
01-05-2010, 12:45 PM
No sir, I should be lowering them in the near future.

philbey
01-06-2010, 5:13 PM
Cool, sounds perfect to me!

turtle
01-20-2010, 11:15 PM
I always run a one piece. even if it does crap the brake light,,,it will light up when you use the back brake...that will pass inspection.Just always use your back brake when someone is behind you.

earz
01-20-2010, 11:18 PM
They make a brake light switch that replaces a banjo bolt. It can be used anywhere there's a banjo fitting. Just be sure to get the correct thread pitch


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk