PDA

View Full Version : Question about CB750 DOHC tach



rustrocket84
12-18-2009, 2:39 PM
Anybody not using the tach have problems with oil coming out or anything problems without using a tach? If so does anybody have a plug to cover the whole for the tach on these bikes. I've seen them for the SOHC 750's but not the DOHC bikes. Thanks for any info

soca750
12-19-2009, 1:14 PM
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/CB750-CHROME-SPIKE-TACH-PLUG-tachometer-cb-750-350-gl_W0QQitemZ290379418563QQcmdZViewItemQQimsxZ20091 209?IMSfp=TL0912092310009r18934

found an ebay auction but theres no pictures...feedback shows that one was sold with positve feedback. 17 bucks might be a little steep if you cant see what youre getting tho....

says it works for both sohc and dohc...

jpswino
12-20-2009, 3:37 PM
You can rely on that guy 100%. His name is Steve and has an outstanding reputation. No worries at all. He sells lots of stuff on another site I am on for hondachoppers.

soca750
12-20-2009, 6:56 PM
sweet...i might just have to try one for myself then.

gr8paradox
12-21-2009, 11:15 AM
I just used a piece of hard plastic hose as a bushing and stuffed in a brass pipe plug. It works for me. The brown ricer is kind of a beater, so it fits in well. LOL

http://i48.photobucket.com/albums/f224/gr8paradox/others/brownrice640.jpg

http://i48.photobucket.com/albums/f224/gr8paradox/others/br640close.jpg

rustrocket84
12-21-2009, 11:51 AM
Thanks gr8. I saw your bike on the way out to the Slab riot. I think I'll give this a try. My bike isn't going to be a show stopper by any means. I got a lot of good ideas after seeing some DOHC 750's and some of the other four cylinder bikes. I was stuck for the longest time on the contols, and what I was going to do for them. It's all the small things coming together now