PDA

View Full Version : Welding Helmet

Carman34L
01-19-2012, 3:14 PM
So, I need a new welding helmet . I really don't want to spend $300 either. I do want a good auto darkening glass one though.

Recommendations?

OakBehringer
01-19-2012, 3:21 PM
So, I need a new welding helmet . I really don't want to spend $300 either. I do want a good auto darkening glass one though.

Recommendations?

I have one of these Miller Pro-Hobby models:

http://www.millerwelds.com/products/welding_protection/head_face/helmets/pro-hobby/

I'm a beginning TIG Welder and I find it to be comfortable and work great. I think you can find them for about $125-$150.

Shovelzilla
01-19-2012, 3:24 PM
I have one of these Miller Pro-Hobby models
I have one too,their good hoods but they dont have a grind mode and being in a welding class it gets aggrovating cause i gotta keep switching back and forth to glasses. I hate to say it but Harbor freights hoods are decent,and the lifetime warranty's a plus.Sometimes you can find good deals on Egay if you still want a Miller,Lincoln,or Speedglas.

cstafford
01-19-2012, 3:44 PM
I use a Harbor Freight auto. Was skeptical at first but has proved its worth for me.

Carman34L
01-19-2012, 3:44 PM
Good stuff, thanks guys.

I was a little apprehensive about the harbor freight stuff. I will head over there tonight and check out what they have. Otherwise, I found the Miller Blue Heat one for under $100

Thanks!

Welderjosh
01-19-2012, 7:52 PM
Get the Miller. You won't regret it.

mikeyfrombc
01-19-2012, 9:52 PM
check out METALMAN helmets ,the guys at the depot told me they are ex Miller guys who started their own line of helmets and such

MercuryMoto67
01-19-2012, 10:49 PM