PDA

View Full Version : has anyone found how to remap ECU's at home?



REV
10-11-2009, 6:50 PM
just wondering. i know theres TFI units, Power Commanders and the like, but why not just get the cable and program and remap the stock ECU the way HD does? seems logical...

cafcustoms
10-12-2009, 2:22 PM
just wondering. i know theres TFI units, Power Commanders and the like, but why not just get the cable and program and remap the stock ECU the way HD does? seems logical...

Some of the guys on the UK Buell owners site ( www.ukbeg.com ) got it all worked out, to remap buell ecu's - can't be a lot different.
Take a look at their forums - they had connecting cables for sale and the re-mapping programme is free to download, also loads of advice available - ECM Spy I think the programme is called.
Cheers
Nick

REV
10-12-2009, 5:00 PM
looked all over that site, didnt see to much beyond some troubles with the cable. any other clues? and thanks for that btw

cafcustoms
10-12-2009, 11:36 PM
http://www.ecmspy.com/

Cheers
Nick

jakazz
10-13-2009, 10:00 AM
This is pretty cool, seems like the race tuner software, but free and these guys have some serious open source momentum going on.

Now if we could convert it to the HD ecm we could be in for a real good time.

does anyone know if the ecm's are the same, buell to sporty?

My PC3 died a month ago and a friend stated that in either AI mag or one of the other rags it stated that the life span on these piggy back setups is only about 3 years.....and what do you know a couple months past 3 boom dead.

Here: http://www.buelletinboard.com/forums/showthread.php?t=5176&highlight=ecmspy

over 107 pages just on the ecmspy tuning, i only got through about 10.....but these guys are pushing it

mjasen10
10-13-2009, 2:44 PM
im pretty positive there not, buell uses a different f i system. europen bikes are also not the same as north american models. keep that in mind if oyur gonna buy somethin from the uk.

TheDemon
10-16-2009, 6:30 PM
Even if they are different it sounds like they have a good solid base to start with if you wanted to try and tackle something like this with a sporty ECM. It sucks the megasquirt firmware won't work with vtwins.

The easiest thing to do though, granted your going to have to shell out the scratch, is to just get the race tuner from harley which allows you to adjust everything.

OR you could search egay and get one on the cheap, if you hurry this one is a steal


http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/2008-Harley-Davidson-Sportster-EFI-Race-Tuner-Kit_W0QQcmdZViewItemQQhashZitem3ca65c5658QQitemZ26 0489107032QQptZMotorcyclesQ5fPartsQ5fAccessories