PDA

View Full Version : strobe timing question -triumph t140



guschambers
10-06-2009, 6:59 AM
Hey guys, quick question on using a strobe to time my triumph t140. I've read that you should bring the motor up to 5000rpm. some people say 3000 is fine. Also, am I correct in thinking that the lines on the rotor will not line up at idle? but only when throttle is opened ? any help is greatly appreciated. thanks .im running a boyer by the way.

KT
10-06-2009, 7:09 AM
Correct you must raise the idle speed to 4 to 5 grand to get the full advance timing ...MAgs and such come already advanced but you will need to raise RPM's to achieve correct advanced timing ...Also the needle is a helpful guide but may not line up exactly ....My lines up a hair before the needle ...and that is were the bike likes it ..it seems...

guschambers
10-06-2009, 7:11 AM
cool, thanks alot.