PDA

View Full Version : How much should I pay for an old XS?

section8joe
09-29-2009, 9:34 PM
I'm looking for a winter project bike. This will be the first bike that I will be messing around with. How much should I expect to pay for an early 80's xs 650? I've seen some for around $400 on craigslist. Does that seem like a fair price? Sorry if this is a stupid question but I'm really new to this. I've been riding motorcycles for a few years but this will be my first project bike.

rusjack
09-29-2009, 9:43 PM
Ive heard of them going from free too around a grand... but it depends on the bike
does it run? if so, how well? does it come with the ownership?
what are your plans for it? complete tear down?

i picked up mine with the motor out of the frame, two cracked tires, a loose top end on the motor, carbs in a box of parts for 400 canadian... around 350US at the time.... but i know ill have to put money and a lot of work into the engine, but other than that all im really using is the frame/forks/wheels...

If the bike was a runner and needed nothing to be on the road, i'd put down 1000 or less

noah
09-30-2009, 5:53 AM
i paid $300 for mine in about 10 diferent boxes but it came w 2 engines. all i can say is for my first build i wish i had baught a runner though now with every thing stripped off i dont know how much original shit i would use anyways. but i see guys asking way over $1200 around here and think they are crazy

Doubleclutch
09-30-2009, 6:30 AM
$300 to 1k is the going price around here but the all depends on the condition and if there's a title.

dirtyd
09-30-2009, 7:19 AM